Get to know Sorrow star Melissa Mars

When it came to casting the role of Detective Salinas in the indie horror film Sorrow, Millie Loredo knew she had to have indie film sweetheart Melissa Mars play her. Melissa has starred in several independent films like The Cabining and Curse of Mesopotamia, which will premiere soon.

Mars has also wrapped filming her role for Assassin’s Game, an action film premiering May 26 with Tom Sizemore and Vivica A. Fox. She is originally from France and got her start there in the entertainment industry as a pop singer.

Her role in Sorrow is that of Detective Salinas. The film centers on Mila Sweeney, a forensic psychologist who is kidnapped and tortured by two deranged serial killers. However, she manages to escape to exact revenge against her captors.

Mars said she is excited for the film to premiere at River Oaks Theatre in Houston, Texas in just two weeks on Tuesday, April 21. She hopes audiences enjoy the story and its thrilling plot twists. Keep reading to get to know Melissa Mars, the woman behind the badge!

Why did you choose to become a part of “Sorrow?” What was it about the film that drew you to it?

Did I choose Sorrow or did Sorrow choose me? I had just flown back to Paris from Los Angeles after two last intense days in the extremely hot desert of Palmdale on the set of Assassin’s Game, which will be released on May 26 with Tom Sizemore and Vivica A. Fox. Millie Loredo contacted me and wanted me to send in a tape as soon as possible for the character of Detective Salinas. I didn’t have time to tape on set, but I did it once we had wrapped the movie and I was back home in L.A. Needless to say, I was seriously jetlagged and so exhausted that I almost gave up on taping myself. I decided to take a nap instead. I am glad I did, though, because after that, I was regenerated and taped myself as Detective Salinas.

Did you originally want to play Detective Salinas? If so, what was it about her that made you want to portray her in the film?

That’s the role I was called for. Two days later, Millie called me to welcome me onboard. I had exactly 48 hours to get ready to be Detective Salinas. I remember I was on the plane flying to Houston to go directly to the set of Sorrow, and I was still writing a lot of notes, as fast as I could. I felt oppressed by the lack of time, but it was also very exciting.

How did you get into character?
I like to work on the backstory of my characters. After reading the script several times, I built my character’s story and explored everything that is NOT in the script: her parents, studies, career, love life, apartment, lifestyle and life outside of the script. I did a lot of research on the Internet about detectives’ lives and what it takes to become a detective. I imagined it, wrote about it and improvised around it.

What was the most difficult scene to film?

The most difficult scene to shoot was a scene in the killers’ house in Houston, Texas. Detective Farrell and I inspect the crime scene and the bodies. It was so hot and humid, and there were a lot of people on set, which made it warmer. The set lights didn’t help either. I was wearing my leather jacket, too, and it made me sweat so much. Those were tough conditions to film in, and I felt so sticky. I normally love hot showers, but that day, I would have given anything for cold shower!

You were recently at Sundance and Slamdance to promote another indie film. What do you enjoy most about indie films?

I really enjoy the human element of it all. You really feel that the director, the producers, and all of us really, give everything they have to make the magic happen. We obviously don’t make these movies for the money but for the sake of the story that we feel we absolutely need to tell and share. Most of the time, the director and producers invest all of their money and time to make that story come out on the big screen. I respect that devotion so much, and it makes me also want to give everything I can.

Which was your favorite scene to shoot?

My favorite scene was probably when I wore my official badge for the first time and said, “I’m Detective Salinas.” There were a lot of scenes that I enjoyed shooting.  I also must say the cast was really inspirational and great to act alongside. I had some amazing moments with Vannessa Vasquez, Donny Boaz, Andrew Sensenig and the other actors both on- and off-screen.

What do you hope audiences will enjoy most about the film?

Detective Salinas, of course! Just kidding. On a serious note, I just hope they will be receptive. This story is not only based on true events but also generates so much Horror, fright and discomfort.

About themoviesorrow

Sorrow is ready to scare you with more slaughter, more greed, more torment and what not. Story of pitiless killers and innocent girl, who become prey of these killers.
This entry was posted in Horror Movie, movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment